things I don’t know

I’ve always liked knowing things. That sounds so generic, but I can’t really explain it any other way. Like in college, I was a “Husky Ambassador”… the person in the burgundy blazer & khakis who showed prospective students & their parents around campus, so naturally, I had to know what I was talking about. This building is for these majors, that statue of the naked woman gets covered in scarves & hats during the winter, etc. When I was little, I wanted to be a detective and called myself M.T. Private Eye. I would ride my bike around the neighborhood (without fear of being kidnapped) and jot down people’s license plate numbers in a notebook. I figured they would come in handy when I had to crack a case or something. And now I’m a paralegal, which involves acquiring information, finding missing pieces of information, and organizing it all so it makes sense.

After taking our first dance lesson for the wedding last night, I realized how much I don’t know… that I WANT to know!

1) Ballroom dancing. Nothing Dancing with the Stars-esque, but just enough knowledge to dance for real without getting my feet stepped on.

2) Canning. I grew all these tomatoes over the summer and ran out of things to do with them. I wish I could have made sauce or stewed tomatoes and saved them to use over the winter.

3) Tailoring. I can sew rudimentary things. Pillow covers, aprons, curtains. But I so wish I could take in my work pants that are too big! No one likes having a saggy butt.

4) Self Defense. Yeah, I carry mace with me when I’m walking somewhere alone at night, but what would I REALLY do if some thug grabbed me from behind? Probably pass out.

5) Bartending. Extra money. It looks cool. Tom Cruise in Cocktail. You get the idea.

6) Speed Reading. I am such a slow reader and my to-read list on GoodReads is a mile long.

7) Living off the Land. What would I do if there really was some type of grid-down, government overthrow, civil war? Besides pray…

8 ) Herbal Medicine. God put this stuff on the Earth for a reason. We should probably be putting it to better use.

9) Calligraphy. Extra money. It looks cool. Sense & Sensibility. What? I don’t know. Now I’m just naming movies I like.

10) Photography. Or at least getting a sweet SLR camera and pretending I know what I’m doing.

I’m giving myself to age 80 to get these things accomplished. Better get started!

Meg

This entry was posted in Alternative Medicine, Careers, Food, Organization, Outdoors, Paralegal, Sewing, Weddings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to things I don’t know

  1. Sean says:

    Hey great list! Of course, I’m sure most of those things are well within reach… especially since you’re pretty competent at most of those as it is.

    (Except for surviving a government overthrow and civil war at the same time with no power, not that I doubt your abilities, I just don’t know how you would get to the mountains in time…)

Leave a Reply

